The Agostinho Neto University’s College of Medicine (FMUAN) had its remote origin in 1963, then with the designation of Medical-Surgical Course of the University General Studies of Angola, created by the Portuguese Administration by Decree-Law 44530, of August 21, 1962, following the publication on 23 July of the same year of Decree-Law 44472 which annulled the Legislative Decree 3235 of 21 April 1962 of the General Government of Angola.

The designation of Medical-Surgical Course was maintained even after the General University Studies of Angola were designated University of Luanda by virtue of Decree-Law 48790 of December 23, 1968. Only almost a year later on the date of national independence and when on September 28, 1976 the then Minister of Education António Jacinto signs the Portaria 77-A / 76 that transforms the University of Luanda into the University of Angola, did this University’s Courses such as the Medical-Surgical Course become extinct and renamed as Colleges. Thus, for the first time the designation of College of Medicine arises, although of the University of Angola.

The current denomination of the College of Medicine of the Agostinho Neto University came from Resolution 1/85 of the CDS, published in Diário da República 9 -1st Series on January 28, 1985, in which the University of Angola was renamed Agostinho Neto University (UAN), in honor of the Founder of the Nation and First President of the Republic, who was its first Rector.