The College of Social Sciences is one of the new Organizational Units of the Agostinho Neto University. It was created in 2009, through decree nº7 / 2009, of 12 of May (article 7). Several constraints led to its operation beginning only on October 25, 2010, with the formal abolition of the College of Letters and Social Sciences and the appointment by UAN’s Rector of the deans and vice-deans of two new Colleges: the College of Social Sciences and the College of Letters.

The College of Social Sciences assumes the legacy of the extinct College of College of Arts and Social Sciences, but with a clear orientation towards change and the future, seeking to reconcile institutional and sustainable development in a constant openness and relationship with the surrounding community, within the scope of Academic region in which it is registered, at national, regional and international levels.